This Week in Dev

Working with Node.js Express, mLab, and Concurrently

Brad Traversy’s DevConnector tutorial has kept me busy over the past couple weeks. see repo It was great to brush up after being away from developing React.js and Redux for a while. DevConnector is a much larger application than what I have built in the past using these tools, so and I was glad to practice my React/Redux programming patterns on such a larger scale.

I learned some new techniques in addition to brushing up on the familiar ones. mLab.com is a great tool for development. Not just a convenient alternative to working with MongoDB locally, mLab also offers intuitive interfaces for monitoring and managing database indexes.

/2019-02-19_mlab.png

Concurrently is another great trick I learned from this tutorial. I used to start the API and my frontend as separate processes, but with concurrently, I can combine them into one convenient command in my package.json